Dear B: Am I An Insomniac?

sleeping_in_co-246x342

Dear B,

I have always been a light sleeper but here lately it’s been getting ridiculous, as in I can’t fall asleep at all. I’ve tried wearing an organic eye mask and sipping lavender tea to no avail. It takes forever for me to finally fall asleep, I don’t get enough good sleep, and then fall asleep at my desk the next day which HELLO, isn’t ideal for climbing the success ladder. What do I do?

S*****

Dear Princess in the Pea,

I hope you’re caffeinated enough to make it through this without dozing off. Also, you are not an insomniac; you’re just sleep challenged due to the exciting life you lead.

If I was a life coach, which I am not but you probably need one so please contact my favorite, I would tell you to try and clear your brain before bedtime. Stop looking through work emails. Stop looking at pictures of your crazy ex’s new girlfriend on Instagram. Stop texting that guy that you like but can’t seem to figure out. Doing any or all of those activities will get your brain working overtime and let’s be real, we all need the beauty rest.

Some ways to help welcome in solid shuteye? Invest in great sheets and fluffy pillows. Drink sleepy-time tea with a shot of melatonin.  Put on an old favorite show or movie that will relax you to sleep – think Friends, not Weeds. Plug your phone in and turn it on silent. Make sure you and your room smell amazing.

Goodnight and good luck,

Screen shot 2013-05-16 at 12.00.38 AM

Leave a Reply

