Q&A w/My BFF Who’s (Happily) Married

8488c05701ea2098c1e0f2b4ce1730c9

My last article for HelloGiggles created quite the debate – who knew discussing marriage and wedding bands would get so many people talking? Well it did, and it got me thinking I’d like to hear some real talk from my happily married friends who are under 40 years old for no reason at all other than to just hear it and maybe, just maybe, learn a little something. Backstory: My friend and her husband met after college and have been married for two years. No pets, no kids anytime soon and both are hilarious humans who have it together. And to keep it kosher, I will refer to the interviewee as “W” – as in Wife/Wifey (eww), not George.

B: So let’s go ahead and get this one out of the way – what would you think if your husband stopped wearing his wedding band?

W: It wouldn’t happen. Well, not for long.  To me, a wedding ring symbolizes so many things and it lets other women know he is off the market.  When I was single, I noticed a wedding ring right away, not because I was only looking at guys as potential dates, but because it let me know that flirting was off limits.  I know there are some women sleazy enough to enjoy flirting with a married man, but I like to know that my husband wears a ring to remind him and to let others know that he is taken.

B: Quirk that you learned about your husband only after marrying him? 

W: He doesn’t require much sleep.  Like he sleeps 4-5 hours a night.  I need a solid 8 hours of beauty sleep so that quirk sometimes drives me crazy.  We may have to invest in that king size bed that has two separate beds in it.

B: Single behavior that you don’t do anymore? 

W: I don’t have guy best friends.  I had a couple before we got serious.  I know some people can have best friends of the opposite gender and still be married but I think it’s a pretty tricky balance.  Guys need respect and need to be the ones you turn to, so if I’m doing that with another guy, it just isn’t right.

B: Worst part about living with a boy? 

W: Everything smells. Seriously.  I never knew clothes, bathrooms, just places in general could smell so bad.

B: Best part about living with a boy? 

W: He kills spiders and moves furniture.  I like to rearrange a lot and that was limited when I was by myself. (Or at least resulted in a lot of injuries.)

B: Strangest thing about being married?

W: Having a new last name. Also, being with someone 24/7 is a lot weirder than I expected.  We work together so that adds an extra element but sometimes, we have to do our own thing for a while. (He golfs, I shop.)

B: Favorite thing about being married?

W: I was thinking about this the other day but he’snreally become my best friend and I think that’s pretty cool.  I’m glad that I waited and married someone that I enjoyed hanging out with (watching football, going to movies, just driving around) rather than only focusing on the “romantic” parts.  Because once the romantic part fades, your left with the person.  Not every day is going to be this awesome date night, so it’s important to marry someone that makes boring things fun.

B: Best advice anyone ever gave you before you got married that is still legit now that you’ve been married?

W: Marriage is hard work.  It’s almost an understatement.  You have two different people under one roof making decisions almost daily.  I remember how excited I was about marriage (even in college) and now I laugh, because if I had any idea how hard it would be, I would not have been in such a rush.  It is great and obviously worth it, but it isn’t easy.

B: Do you feel like people treat you differently now that you’re married? 

W: Yes and no.  I was really scared I would lose all of my friends once I got married (especially the ones who weren’t married) and it has been such a relief that I didn’t.  So my friends still treat me the same, which is amazing.  My parents actually treat me differently…I grew up as the baby in the family, so being married has pushed me up (I feel like) in their eyes as an adult.

B: Who’s your go-to couple of awesomeness that made you realize you could actually be happily married?

W: My brother and sister-in-law.  I lived with them for a summer and they were so honest about the hard work and rewards of marriage.  I think it gave me a more realistic view of marriage and an ideal to strive towards.

B: Favorite thing to do as a couple?

W: We travel a lot and I love it.  Neither of us traveled a ton growing up so we get to experience new places together.

B: Who drives on road trips?

W: Usually me.  The driver gets to control the music and I’m kind of obsessed with controlling the music.

Stayed tuned, lovelies. Part 2 coming at you real soon.

XOXO,

Screen shot 2013-05-16 at 12.00.38 AM

Leave a Reply

