The Art of Saying Nothing.

df443487e2a0cce807a1830ed2ed921d

I am a very outspoken person. I respect outspoken people. Speak your mind! Freedom of speech! AMERICA! I get it, and I roll with it but sometimes, yes there are times, when I feel it’s best to say nothing at all.

Like when your co-worker says something so ignorant in a meeting and all of your proposed responses include the phrase “are you kidding me?” Or when your old friend slowly re-friends your ex, and his ex via social media for no reason that you can tell other than she enjoys using the “like” button. OR when you give a guy your number and it turns out he’s in fact married to the woman across the room who is now glaring at you. No he doesn’t wear a ring but why should he? They have matching tattoos!

In all these aforementioned situations I remained silent, and while it might have felt super gratifying to say exactly what I would have liked to say right then, the situation would not have been improved through anything that came out of my mouth. The moment would have passed and I would have felt all empty and frustrated which is lame.

It’s an art, giving em’ crickets. Say nothing at all, even add a smile in there, and you’ll find people will pay more attention. Or they’ll just think you’re mysterious. Both are chic.

XOXO,

Screen shot 2013-05-16 at 12.00.38 AM

One thought on “The Art of Saying Nothing.

  1. I am working on the fine art of saying nothing at all. It’s not easy, but I’m learning to let things roll, even though some of the things affect me in big ways.

Leave a Reply

