Beyonce Is Now a College Course.

Beyonce-Jay-Z-PDA-Pictures-2014-Grammy-AwardsAfter reading this article from the Associated Press I immediately asked:

1. Why don’t I live anywhere close to New Jersey?

2. Why didn’t I think of that?

A big shout out to Rutgers’ Department of Women’s and Gender Studies for offering a course called “Politicizing Beyonce.” The class consists of watching videos, analyzing lyrics and then reading an occasional piece on black feminism. I mean, basically every class I took in undergrad. But for real…CAN YOU IMAGINE THE ASSIGNMENTS?

What do you think Beyonce was trying to say through her most recent Grammy performance with husband, Jay-Z?

Compare and contrast Beyonce’s earlier work (Bootylicuous, Crazy In Love) to her latest “Visual Album.”

Analyze the following lyric: ” I sneezed on the beat and the beat got sicker.”

Who is Sasha Fierce?

How will you choose to be your own Beyonce in the coming year?

XOXO,

Screen shot 2013-05-16 at 12.00.38 AM

One thought on “Beyonce Is Now a College Course.

  1. I so wish I could take that class too. We did have a long talk about Beyonce in this class I took last fall called “Multiracial and Hybrid Identities.” The professor even challenged us to think about “Which version of Beyonce do you want to be” or for the guys, “Which version of Beyonce do you want to be with.” We were talking about how she has been portrayed so many different ways and even with different skin colors, especially in commercials. That was tough to think about. Ultimately, I want to be a bad-ass like her and be me in my own way.

    I also wanted to let you know that I nominated you for a Liebster Award, which is a fun little award given by bloggers to other bloggers who have less than 200 followers. I wrote about it here: http://takecomfortproject.wordpress.com/2014/02/11/liebster-award/

Leave a Reply

