Mom and Me and the Wedding Dress

51412b7ae5ab9f55bba3053e9994d5cc

Last weekend Mom and I headed to Arkansas to find the perfect wedding dress. Why Arkansas? That was my initial question, too, but another bride had told us this was “THE place” located in the middle of nowhere. Mom and I had no idea what to expect when we drove up to Low’s Bridal last Saturday morning – this was a first for both of us – so we were anxious but mostly excited as the massive gates, yes GATES, opened. Remember that episode of Friends where the girls go shopping for Monica’s dress and 50+ aggressive brides run though the doors as soon as they’re open? It was kind of like that, but much more civilized and passive, of course. It is a nice place, after all. Gorgeous and perfectly Southern. Low’s is located in an old train station and I loved that we got a small history lesson as we walked to a new floor or room.

After I filled out some paperwork about my wedding date and preferred styles, we were greeted by our consultant who then whisked us away to the next floor up. Talk about dresses on dresses! Mom was in heaven and I was in a dreamy state of “ummm” while she pulled a couple dresses for me to start with. We moved from dress to dress and floor to floor and finally we narrowed the search down to two dresses, completely different in every way. I was torn.

“Want to try a veil?” Our consultant asked, adding that this final touch is typically the tipping point for most brides who are indecisive. She added the veil to my high ponytail and I stepped onto the block surrounded by mirrors and the next thing I knew Mom was crying. That was the dress, and oddly enough, the second wedding dress I had ever tried on! It was such a surreal moment, standing there in white and seeing Mom’s face light up. I attempted a happy dance, much to the amusement of other brides and consultants scurrying around with armfuls of lace and tulle, then offered Mom a tissue.

As we walked to the car, dress bag safely in tow, we were all smiles. It was such a perfect morning spent with Mom – laughing, gauging the “wow” factor of each dress, taking pictures on the grand staircase, and wedding scheming. A morning I’ll never forget.

XOXO,

Screen shot 2013-05-16 at 12.00.38 AM

Leave a Reply

