Count Your Blessings

123PSA: There is a lot of negativity in this world.

Yep, it’s a sad but true reality and while sometimes – especially when you’re really tired and hungry and have a major headache from your long day at the office – it’s easy to get caught up in the not so goods. I know I’m not the only one who feels a little overwhelmed sometimes, what with the awful stuff happening that you see every time you turn on the news to rude comments others make that you can’t seem to stop analyzing. Some days are tough, but then you take a minute to realize all you’ve been blessed with and suddenly all the bad stuff seems a lot less daunting.

I grew up in church – preacher’s kids, represent! – and one of my favorite songs to sing was always “Count Your Blessings.” I also grew up watching many a Christmas movie and my favorite has always been and always will be White Christmas, where Bing Crosby sings “Count Your Blessings (Instead of Sheep)” to a sleepy Rosemary Clooney. At 28, I find myself singing one or a combination of both songs whenever I feel disheartened, anxious or just all around exhausted. I refocus on all the wonderful people and opportunities God has blessed me with and suddenly my breathing is back to normal and calm rushes over me. A smile usually follows.

No, counting blessings isn’t a cure all and yes, sometimes I have a hard time of “considering the source” and moving on, but remembering the abundance of blessings shifts your whole perspective. Has your boss been particularly heinous lately? Take a minute to show gratitude for a of all) having a job and b of all) the talent/ambition to go find a new boss that values you! Can’t seem to get past an argument with a good friend and worry that you’re losing each other? Take a minute to remember all the times you’ve been there for each other, times when you worked through the hard stuff and let go of the negative. A little love goes a long way! Disheartened by the current state of affairs in the is world? Turn off the news and surround yourself with those who keep it positive and focus on the good.

So if you’re worried and you can’t sleep, just count your blessings instead of sheep

And you’ll fall asleep, counting your blessings…

XOXO,

Screen shot 2013-05-16 at 12.00.38 AM

Leave a Reply

