It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 10.26.21 AM

Oh December how I love you! With just 14 days left until Christmas it’s officially the busiest time of the year and our social calendar is packed to the brim with friends, family, parties and a partridge in a pear tree! This season always flies by so I’m really trying to savor all the holiday goodness and not get lost in the busyness of it all.

It’s easy to do, you know, get lost in the hustle and bustle – worrying about if you’ve bought the right gifts, hung enough wreaths, made the prettiest sugar cookie or gotten enough recognition at your holiday Christmas party. I get it, seriously I do.

I came across a verse this morning I’m not sure I ever paid attention to before but this morning, ta da!, here is was. Psalm 39:6 tells us that “all our busy rushing ends in nothing.

There it is.

When life feels like a rush from one event/meeting/party to another I start to forget. If you’re like me you forget your keys and your earrings and your password for the Apple store – anyone with me here?! – but more importantly, I forget what’s most important. I forget the little things that make this season so magical.

Greeting strangers with “Merry Christmas” and seeing the smile on their face

Playing Santa for children whose parents aren’t able

Making Christmas cookies with my sweet husband

Dinners around our table with new friends

Watching Christmas movies with my family and quoting every other word

Rushing to check the mail every day because Christmas cards

Hot chocolate with the good whip cream and a candy cane

Nights spent with friends who are more like family and their sweet babies

Seeing acts of kindness at every turn and paying it forward

Decorating our house for Christmas for the first time as a Mrs. with Mom

Becoming a child again

Hanging ornaments on the tree and sharing memories

Quiet mornings spent counting my blessings and thanking God for this extraordinary life

Here’s to soaking in each and every moment of this holiday season and not losing sight of its wonder! Bring on the Bing Crosby and “Home Alone” marathons. xo

Leave a Reply

