Favorite Holiday Movies

white_christmas_header__span

DISCLAIMER: My family is a Christmas movie family – Dad starts watching them right after before Halloween usually and we can all quote about 90% of the holiday classics. Here is the short list (which doesn’t include all the Hallmark Christmas movies I also enjoy) and a summary of why I love them so…some I grew up watching and some are new favorites. Oh and please let me know what you will be watching these next couple weeks with your family – we’re always looking to add new films to our growing collection!

White Christmas

I have watched this since I was a small babe and Mom tells me I would watch it every day so I could dance along to this scene. There’s nothing better than Bing Crosby and Rosemary Clooney and a whole lot of snow.

Elf

Will Ferrell as a giant elf who falls in love in NYC. Enough said! #sonofanutcracker

Miracle on 34th Street, old and new 

There’s nothing better than Maureen O’Hara in the original but there’s also something magical about the updated version with Matilda. We watch both versions and love them both!

home-alone

Home Alone, I and II

KEVIN!!!

National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation

This one is truly the gift that keeps on giving since every time I watch it I catch something I never had before. If you love this movie, you’ll appreciate these fun facts about the movie.

The Family Stone

This is one of those movies that makes you laugh because you get the crazy family thing and then you ugly cry because it makes you feel all the feels. Even the trailer makes me smile.

christmas-in-connecticut-pictures-4

Christmas in Connecticut

Dad and I watch this every year – it’s black and white and full of old school magic. Every time I watch this I want to go back to 1945.

Jingle All the Way

Dad, my brother and my husband can quote this from beginning to end and I laugh the entire time with them. Make sure you watch this one with plenty of Christmas cookies on hand.

56780afb1f0000c000e9c426

It’s A Wonderful Life

If I had to choose this would rank as my favorite Christmas film of all time. It’s flawless from beginning to end, and if you don’t shed a tear during the final scene you might be a Scrooge!

Happy Holidays and happy movie watching! xo

One thought on “Favorite Holiday Movies

Leave a Reply

