where my confidence comes from

10c496beb23cc661078d4efc1b35690d

One of my favorite Bible stories as a child was David and Goliath. It’s a classic underdog tale: David, a young shepherd armed only with a sling, beats Goliath, the giant/scary warrior. I remember being in Sunday school listening to my sweet teacher tell us the story using the felt board and blacklight, bringing in a slingshot and some rocks to let us see what David’s weapon might have looked like. I remember Goliath’s felt person looked like a Disney villain and I thought about a) how scared David must have been to stand before such a big dude and b) how big God must be to bring down a giant in such a seemingly simple way.

Fast forward several years and here I am, an adult(ish) looking at this story with fresh eyes and asking myself – Where does my confidence come from?

David charged into a battle far bigger than himself with confidence. Why? Because he knew where his power came from. The Lord had been faithful before so why wouldn’t he be faithful again?

David had a big confidence that could only come from a big God. He didn’t lean on his own abilities but on God’s might and power to work through him. He trusted that God had his back. He was confident. And he conquered his giant.

I don’t know what personal battle you may be facing today or will face tomorrow. What I know for certain is that we all have our own stuff that we deal with. None of us are immune to life and people will let us down because we’re all human with our fair share of flaws. We all do battle with our fair share of giants and they come to us in various shapes and sizes, but we can take heart knowing that our God is always bigger. It’s time that I take a page out of David’s playbook and refuse to rely on my own strength so that I can find new strength in God. I’m done letting fear take over and take away my joy.

He has already overcome the world so why should I be anything but confident in Him? I don’t know what your giant looks like, however I’m guessing it’s not a monstrous Philistine warrior who wants to kill you (hello, perspective). What I DO know is that God has our backs. He’s got it covered. Rest easy, friends and don’t be afraid to be confident. xo

Leave a Reply

