People Magazine Chicken

image70

I’m always looking for new recipes to try/impress my husband with so when I saw this little slice of heaven in People I had to try it – oh my word was it delicious! I now affectionatly call it “People Magazine Chicken,” obviously – further proof to my husband that my subscription is necessary. Created and perfected by Chef Simpson Wong of NYC’s Chomp Chomp Restaurant, this honey-roasted chicken is a twist on the comfort-food classic with the most amazing sticky glaze on all the juicy chicken. Difficulty level? Minimal as in I didn’t mess this up so I know you can do it. My husband asked me to marry him again after this meal so yeah, it’s SO GOOD.

INGREDIENTS
1 3-4 lb chicken, giblets removed *organic is best
½ cup honey
¼ cup sugar
¼ cup soy sauce
4 garlic cloves, minced
1/8 cup white-wine vinegar
1 tbsp crushed red pepper flakes
3 tbsp cornstarch

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 350 F.
In a small bowl stir together honey, soy sauce, garlic, vinegar and red pepper flakes.

Take 2 pieces of aluminum foil long enough to enclose the chicken, place one vertically and one horizontally. Pat chicken dry and place in center of pan on top of foil. Gather the foil around the chicken, leaving room at the top to pour the sauce over it. Pour your sauce and completely enclose.

Roast in oven for 1.5-2 hours, depending on the size of your chicken. Then remove from oven and carefully pour the drippings from the chicken sauce into a sauce pan.

In a small bowl whisk together cornstarch and 2 tbsp water. Slowly stir cornstarch mixture into pan with drippings and bring to high heat. Boil for 1 minute until sauce thickens.

Return chicken to oven uncovered and baste with sauce every 10 minutes for a total of 30 minutes.
To make a little crispier and extra ooey-gooey, turn the oven up to a low broil for 4 minutes. Make sure to watch it doesn’t burn! Serve with literally anything and make everyone’s day any day of the week. A major nap afterward optional. xo

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.